Quality Assured

The ACRE Standard demonstrates good practice in organisational management and service delivery and is endorsed by the Charity Commission.

Acre standard and charities logos

It is an exemplar programme for performance improvement with the capability to deliver national, network-wide benchmarking on quality.

The Standard is the result of a Network Performance Improvement Programme which began in February 2004, with support from Defra.

The ACRE Standard covers nine areas of organisational performance:

  • Business planning
  • User-centred service
  • Trustees and the Board
  • Managing activities
  • Financial management and annual reporting
  • Monitoring and evaluation
  • Managing and supporting staff and volunteers
  • Training and skills development
  • Networks and partnerships

Each of the nine areas is divided into two incremental implementation levels (Levels 1 and 2), plus a Level 3 ‘check, review and improve’ requirement. Formal accreditation is undertaken by trained Reviewers and is available to both ACRE Members and Associate Members.

For further information, please contact us.